Board representatives, October 2016 Meeting, San Antonio


About Our Sponsorship

The Hispanic Summer Program is a non-profit, educational service, owned, governed, managed, sustained, and used by a diverse group of seminaries, universities, and departments of theology of the U.S. and Puerto Rico. Each sponsoring institution annually contributes $4,500.00 to support the HSP. Sponsoring institutions have a seat and a vote on the Governing Board.

The Board decides whether or not to admit new sponsoring institutions, appoints its own Chair and committees (above all its Executive Committee), names or removes the Director and Administrator, and decides on sites and dates, faculty, curriculum, fees, and any other matters essential to the actual life of the Hispanic Summer Program. Our sponsoring institutions –Protestant, Evangelical, Roman Catholic, and Pentecostal – are all committed to sustaining the unique mission and vision of the HSP: Providing (firstly but not solely) Latinx graduate students in theology and related fields with the exceptional opportunity of gathering and studying with a number and variety of Latinx faculty that no single institution can make available at once – let alone change every summer – while simultaneously keeping it independent from any single denomination, region, or theological tradition.

In return, our sponsors enjoy all the benefits of having the HSP as THEIR OWN summer course, part of their curriculum, integrated into their catalog, available to their own students, and usable in their accreditation and recruitment processes as one more sign of their commitment to diversity and multiculturalism in the very diverse world we inhabit. Students from sponsoring institutions choose one course from among (normally) seven different 3-credit graduate-level courses and pay only $425 to attend the program. This reduced fee covers tuition, round-trip airfare, and 13 days of room and board. Students from NON-sponsoring institutions pay a higher fee of $800 and their own airfare though the HSP covers room and board. Please visit the HSP section of this website for a full fee schedule. Applications are accepted online beginning November 26, 2018 and ending February 16, 2019.

The HSP also has an exciting series for non-Latinx FACULTY, STAFF, DEANS, AND PRESIDENTS: For three full days during the HSP, up to 10 non-Latinx faculty, staff, deans, and presidents of sponsoring institutions gather for a workshop that allows them to engage the Latinx reality as they dialogue with one another and with the entire faculty and student body of that summer’s HSP – sharing meals and other activities with Hispanic colleagues and the mostly Latinx student body. Participants also get to sit in on one class as an observer to get a sense of what happens in the HSP classroom. This seminar, Through Hispanic Eyes, has had a lot of success among the faculty and staff who have taken it in the past and slots fill up quickly.

Our Sponsors

Austin Presbyterian Theological Seminary
Boston College School of Theology and Ministry
Boston University School of Theology
Brite Divinity School
Candler School of Theology
Chicago Theological Seminary
Christian Theological Seminary
Claremont School of Theology
Columbia Theological Seminary
Concordia Seminary, St. Louis
Drew University Theological School
Duke Divinity School
Fuller Theological Seminary
Fresno Pacific Biblical Seminary
Garrett-Evangelical Theological Seminary
Graduate Theological Union

  1. Berkeley School of Theology
  2. Church Divinity School of the Pacific
  3. Dominican School of Philosophy & Theology
  4. Jesuit School of Theology of Santa Clara University
  5. Pacific Lutheran Theological Seminary
  6. Pacific School of Religion
  7. San Francisco Theological Seminary
  8. Starr King School for the Ministry

Lexington Theological Seminary
Lutheran School of Theology at Chicago
Methodist Theological School in Ohio
McCormick Theological Seminary
New Brunswick Theological Seminary
North Park Theological Seminary
Oblate School of Theology
Palmer Seminary
Perkins School of Theology
Princeton Theological Seminary
Sacred Heart Seminary and School of Theology
Seminary of the Southwest
Union Theological Seminary in the City of New York
Union Presbyterian Seminary
Universidad Interamericana de Puerto Rico
University of Notre Dame
Vanderbilt University Divinity School
Wake Forest Divinity School
Wesley Theological Seminary
Yale Divinity School